Purple Sweet Potato Bun

DSC_1331b

Yes. I have not gotten over with my purple sweet potato craze. This is my .. fifth post on bakes using purple sweet potato. (Previous recipes : here, here, here and here)

The weather was rather warm, still hovering at around 32°C.  Needless to say, the best condition for baking bread.

Purple Sweet Potato Filling

250 g purple sweet potato
1 - 1.5 tspn fresh milk

Method

1. Wash the sweet potato thoroughly. Peel the skin off and steam with the skin till cooked.

2. Mash the sweet potato. Combine the mashed sweet potato and milk. Cool completely.

3. Divide equally into 8 portions. Set aside.

The Bun Dough

200 g all-purpose flour
20 g caster sugar
100 ml warm milk
4 g instant dried yeast
20g butter
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg (as egg wash)

Method

1. Sprinkle the yeast over the warm milk. Stir to dissolve the yeast. Leave for 15 minutes.

2. Put the flour, salt, sugar, butter in a large bowl. Pour the foamed yeast into the dry mixture.  Bring the ingredients together to form a sticky mass.

3. Sprinkle flour on the counter, transfer the dough to the counter, and begin kneading (or mixing on medium speed with the dough hook). Knead the dough for about 10 minutes (or mix for about 8 minutes), sprinkling in more flour if needed to make a tacky, but not sticky dough.

Lightly oil a large bowl and transfer the dough to the bowl, rolling it to coat it with oil. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap.

4.  First proofing – Leave to rise for 60 – 90  minutes, or until 2.5 times in size.

DSC_1155a

* Note : The finger test : Press a finger into the dough. If indentation remains, the dough has properly risen.

DSC_1156a

5. Preheat oven to 180°C.

6. Once ready, knock back the dough by punching it gently. Turn out the dough. Fold the dough into thirds. Divide the dough into 8 equal portions

7. Shape each piece into a ball lightly.

DSC_1024a

8. Flatten the dough. Place the filling 30g into the centre. Gather the dough up around the filling.

DSC_1034a

9. Flatten each ball and roll into a 15 cm strip. Make 3 cuts lengthwise. Roll it lengthwise (approximately 15 cm).

DSC_1160a

10. Now make a simple knot with the roll dough, so that each bun will look like this…

DSC_1088a

11. Leave to rise for 40-50 minutes, or until 2 times in size.

12. Brush the surface with beaten egg and add some black sesame seeds in the centre.

13. Bake at  160°C for 1o minutes or until turn brown.

DSC_1304a

And my Mr requested for a simple bun.

DSC_1363a

Wish granted.

A healthy snack and breakfast for my family.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Purple Sweet Potato Bun

  1. Cea says:

    That looks awesome. Now just need to source purple sweet potatoes in Toronto.

  2. The buns look amazing! I love how the purple colour peek out from the buns, unique and delicious looking!

  3. tokyohamster says:

    I love love love this recipe! There are few things that a purple sweet potato can’t liven up! I love the color and texture that it brings. I’m heading over to see your other recipes now!

  4. abusymom says:

    Thanks for your compliment, Jennifer. :) I love to read your posts from your blog too. Love to travel to Japan cos I die-hard fan of the culture, architecture and lots more….. :)

  5. tworedbowls says:

    These are so stunning! I adore purple yams too. I had ube ice cream for the first time the other day and loved it. I just can’t get over its natural color — it’s so incredibly vibrant. I’m so excited to read your other purple yam recipes and glad I found your blog!

  6. I love your photos! And I love this recipe. I grew up eating a lot of purple yam in Filipino desserts. I tried to re-create these buns, but used a vegan cinnamon roll recipe for the dough. Of course, they don’t look as beautiful as yours. :-) Do you mind if I include a link to this page on my blog post? whollyvegan.blogspot.com

    • abusymom says:

      Hi Jen,

      Thanks so much for your compliment. :) And thank you for asking.
      Do go ahead with the linking.
      It is such an honour. :) Would love to try out some of your recipes… Umm the chocolate tofu pie looks good. :)

      • Awesome, thank you so much! I hope you like the tofu pie, if you make it. It’s always a favorite at potlucks. :-) I’ll post my purple yam buns on my blog. I still want to make them as delicious looking as yours, so I’ll keep trying. Thanks, again! :-)

Leave a Reply

