Purple Ondeh Ondeh

I love snacks and desserts made with coconut as one of the key ingredients. Kueh, a common term used among Southeast Asians on cakes mainly steamed than baked. This explains the difference in appearance and texture compared with western pastries and cakes.

Purple is my favourite colour and Ondeh Ondeh is one of my favourite snack at any time. So I decided to combined two of my favourites – Purple Ondeh Ondeh.

Ingredients

  • 200g purple sweet potatoes
  • 60g of glutinous rice flour
  • 40g of topioca flour
  • 100g -150g gula melaka (palm sugar)
  • 150g of freshly grated coconut
  • some warm water

First, I checked with busy grandmom where to get those rare purple sweet potatoes as the key ingredients. She mentioned about trying my luck at the local wet markets. I did and (phew) managed to find my purple beauties without much difficulties.

These purple beauties have to be steamed till they are soft.  I was absolutely mesmerized by these purple beauties. Awed by nature as they come in pure, vibrant and rich purple colour. And not to forget the natural sweetness these lovely tubers brought to the tastebud.

And then mashed up so that glutinuous rice flour could be added to form a dough. The ratio of flour and sweet potatoes , 1 : 2, worked well for me. I prefer my ondeh ondeh to be chewy, so I added some tapioca flour to achieve that.  You might want to add in warm water to smoothen the dough. After the gula melaka is stuffed into each of the purple marbles, boil in boiling water until they float.

Then coat these purple beauties with the freshly grated coconut. The coconut must be steamed for around 5 minutes to prevent it from turning sour.

Simple love how these purple lovelies looked, with or without coating. And of course the next is to check if the filling oozed according to your preference.

We love the filling to be more fluidly, so I grated the gula melaka very fine. And if you prefer the filling to be slightly more crunchy, simply chop the gula melaka more coarse.

My hubby had just popped in a few ondeh ondehs into his mouth.Have to go before all my purple beauties disappear.

This entry was posted in Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Purple Ondeh Ondeh

  1. mewmi says:

    I love the purple colour!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ you must have made hubby very very happy!

  2. abusymom says:

    Yes. Very therapeutic to bake. 🙂 All the best to your exams!

  3. Gilly Gee says:

    Looks heavenly! purple is my favourite colour too 🙂

  4. imexcited says:

    Looks yummy! can I have some? 🙂
    By the way, I nominated you for 3 awards. Check out my blog for details. http://imexcited.wordpress.com/2012/04/07/generous-awards/ Congrats!

  5. Pingback: Purple Sweet Potato Mont Blanc (モンブラン) | Abusymom's Blog

  6. Pingback: Purple Sweet Potato Choux Puffs | Abusymom's Blog

  7. Pingback: Purple Sweet Potato Bun | Abusymom's Blog

Leave a comment